Osun State Civil Service Salary Structure and Allowance
5 mins read

Osun State Civil Service Salary Structure and Allowance

Osun State Civil Service Salary Structure and Allowance – In today’s article, I will be discussing with you the Osun State Civil Service Salary structure, so if you are a civil servant working with the Osun State, this article is for you and others in the civil service.

In the post, we will focus on very vital items that have been a challenge to most civil servants of Osun State, and that includes the salary paid to them and the allowances that they receive.

So if you have the intention of working with the Osun State civil service, this article will help you to know how much civil servants of different grades are paid, so keep reading.

About Osun State Civil Service Salary Structure

Salary structure is a framework to determine how employees of a firm or government are paid. This takes into account the salary grade of the workers. However, it is in the salary structure that the salary grades are enshrined.

Every salary grade, has a salary range, a similar one at that, and all those in the same salary grade receive a similar salary, and this is measured based on the minimum wage of the state in question.

The grading and ranking structure of every civil service, in Nigeria including that of the Osun State. is based on the Consolidated Public Service Salary Structure (CONPSS), which is used by most state governments and the Federal Government of Nigeria.


State Civil Service Structure

The Civil Service in Nigeria has 17 grade levels in most states. The highest level is grade level 17, while the lowest grade level is Grade Level 1.

  • Grade level 01 through at least 06 for SSCE holders
  • Grade level 07 typically for a diploma or NCE
  • Grade levels 08 and 09, for masters degree holders

This is the structure that is used all over the 36 states of the federation, they are:

  • Grade Level 1
  • Grade Level 2
  • Grade Level 3
  • Grade Level 4
  • Grade Level 5
  • Grade Level 6
  • Grade Level 7
  • Grade Level 8
  • Grade Level 9
  • Grade Level 10
  • Grade Level 11
  • Grade Level 12
  • Grade Level 13
  • Grade Level 14
  • Grade Level 15 
  • Grade Level 16
  • Grade Level 17

The CONPSS salary structure ranges from Grade Level 1 to Grade Level 17,  their salary is not the same, it differs based on the grade level of the civil servant For instance, Grade Level 2 employees earn a salary range of between N297,968 and N371,760 annually, or N26,176 and N29,610 per m


Osun State Civil Service Salary Structure

For you to understand the salary structure of the Osun State civil servants, you must understand the grade level and the ranking structure that is used in the system, in this section, we are going to look at the structure and how much each of them in their different grade levels are receiving as salary.

Here is a breakdown of the Osun State civil service salary structure, showing the grade level, and the salary range.

Grade Level Salary range (N)
01 19,500 – 27,000
02 21,000 – 29,500
03 22,000 – 32,000
04 22,500 – 35,000
05 25,000 – 41,000
06 31,000 – 49,500
07 41,500 – 64,000
08 54,000 – 80,000
09 63,500 – 96,000
10 73,000 – 111,500
12 87,500 – 127,000
13 98,000 – 138,500
14 107,500 – 153,000
15 120,000 – 167,500
16 132,000 – 190,000
17 147,500 – 213,500


Types of Allowances for civil servants

What are allowances? Allowances are benefits, bonuses offered to civil services for work done, and specific duties, which are not counted as part of their monthly salaries. There are different kinds of allowances, and in this discussion of the types of allowances, we are going to take the listing from the federal level.

The following are the different types of allowances that are offered to civil servants in Nigeria. Although this is a type for the federal civil service. The different allowances are;

  • Duty tour allowances
  •  Kilometer Allowances/Transport Allowances
  •  Disengagement allowances
  •  Hotel accommodation allowance
  •  Estacode allowance
  • Estacode supplementation
  •  Warm clothing allowance
  •  Overtime Allowance
  •  Local Course allowance
  •  Books allowances
  •  Responsibility Allowance
  •  Uniform allowance
  •  Call Duty allowances
  •  Acting Allowances
  •  Teaching Allowances

NOTE: The allowance of the Osun State civil servants is not released, so we don’t a full details on that account.



How many civil servants does the Osun State government have?

The State government has about 3,240 civil servants, who work in the Odun State, and they also have one health centre that is for the workers.

How long (Years) do civil servants work?

Civil servants work for 35 years of pensionable service, and at the age of 60, you are to retire. This retirement age is for all grades in the service is 60 years.


The above is a clear salary structure of the Odsun State civil service and their different grade levels. The condition behind the the increment of the Osun State Civil Service is based on factors, such as years of service, performance, and educational qualifications. However, salary first of all be determined by your grade level and the other factors that have been mentioned above.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *